The Name

by Heidi

I’ve had several questions about the name of my blog.  Some wondered if it was from Robert Lewis’ (will some grammar person please tell me if that’s the way you use an apostrophe on a persons name that ends with ‘s’?) book the New Eve.  I’ve only skimmed the workbook and didn’t hear any of his lectures.  So, I don’t think so.  Another person asked if I got it from our Moms & More teacher.  I don’t remember her saying that, but I think my brain probably stored it away.  Since there is nothing new under the sun, I’m quite sure I did not come up with it myself.

The night I decided to set up a blog Steve and I were talking on the couch.  I told him my blog was mostly going to be pictures of the kids and some cute things they do or say for family who don’t live here.  All that day, I had been thinking about children being the arrows in my quiver.  And, to tell you the truth, I was wondering if I have enough arrows or not.  BTW, I have no idea on that question.  I was also thinking about the fact that in order to hit the right target, I must aim my arrows accurately.  It’s my job to do the aiming, and I want to do it well.  Anyway, I don’t even remember any of the other names we threw out, but when I said “Aiming Arrows,” we both agreed that that was the one.  It was about a 5 minute discussion, and there you have it.  The name of my blog.

Sons [and daughters, of course :)] are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him.  Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth.  Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.   Psalm 127:3-5

