Bottles to Cups

by Heidi

It’s almost time to put away the bottles and bring out the sippy cups.  I’m kind of ready to have my counter space free again.  I’m really ready to not buy formula or make sure I’ve got it packed in the bag.  But, I’m not ready to say goodbye to the cuddle time I get when Graceanna snuggles in to take her bottle.  Tonight she fell asleep in my arms.  She turned her whole body to me, put her thumb in her mouth, cuddled her bear blanket, and began the heavy breathing of peaceful sleep.  I sat there with her for a while.  That, I’m not ready to give up.

But, whether I’m ready or not, that time is right around the corner.  How are you supposed to transition from formula to whole milk?  And, from a bottle 4 times per day to no bottle and just sippy cups?  I don’t know.  And, clearly, I didn’t know how with Gunnar either.  He really never drinks milk unless it’s chocolate, so never.  He drank whole milk in his bottle when I was trying to figure out the transition.  But, he will only drink water out of a cup.  I really don’t care if my kids drink milk or not, but it seems to make the doctor more comfortable when I can honestly say, “yes.  drinks milk.”  So, here I go again.  The transition.

Graceanna definitely likes her new cups.  She’s been swiping brother’s cups for several weeks now.  But, I wanted to get some new ones for her.  So, we’ve got 3 different types of cups.  She’s doing really well figuring out how to work them.  It’s amazing the different kinds of cups.  I won’t describe it.  Just take my word for it.  Overwhelming. 

Here she is with her first sippy containing milk!  (Yesterday, Aug 24, 2009)

IMG_0181

IMG_0184

