Get out of the Kitchen

by Heidi

Last night my parents picked Gunnar up and had some special time with him while Steve and I hosted our small group from church.   Gunnar wore his new windsuit complete with  our favorite college team logo.  He was nice and warm in the crisp cool air that we are now having in the evening.  It was so cool in fact, Poppa turned on the heat in the truck. 

To which Gunnar commented, “If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.”

My jaw was on the floor when my mom told me.  Apparently it was not said in an ugly voice which normally accompanies that phase – thankfully!  After controlling their laughter, they asked him where he heard that saying.  “Word Girl.  On PBS kids.”  My mom said it seemed like he’d be holding on to the phrase trying to find the right time to use it.

I can’t decide if I should shake my head and laugh or tighten up the TV rules.  For now, I’m still trying to pick my jaw up off the floor.

