My Painting

by Heidi

I’ve never painted before aside from the water-color and other fun painting I seem to do regularly right now.  Even more wild than the fact that I painted this huge canvas is that this crazy idea was for someone’s wall!  Definitely risky. 

Now, I would NEVER paint something for someone else’s wall, but when I visited my friend’s new house I saw this painting in my mind and I couldn’t get it out!  (Not a normal experience for me.)

I thought I would buy a canvas, sit down, and start painting.  Thankfully, my wise husband gave me some guidance.  “Why don’t you plan it out on the computer first?” 

So, my first painting is very calculated and exact, not exactly the way I envisioned painting.  But, I’m so happy with the result.  

I painted this in many separate short sessions.  Covering the canvas alone took about 5 different sessions.  There’s the base coat, the edges, and then several tecture layers.  All the dots had to have 3 coats and since some overlap, I broke them into several short sessions too.  It was really gratifying because in at the end of each session – maybe, 20 minutes – I could see the progress I made!

Here’s the finished version.  Their last name is painted through the middle of the canvas with turquoise paint.  I put this rectangle over it in Photoshop for my blog, because I don’t like identifying information especially last names on my blog.  So, you’ll have to work a little to “see” the final painting.

So, the big question.  Did she like it?  She sure did say all the right things and made me feel like she liked it!  She said it was the right style and the right color.  (That’s good as I went to Sherwin Williams and bought a little container of their exact wall color!)  I think she did.

Gunnar painted with me.  He gave them to our friends as a gift.  (Notice her turquoise accent wall.  Love it!)

I “ooohed” and “aaahed” over Gunnar’s paintings and asked him to paint one for me.   

Then, he painted one for Daddy.  Hmph!

I really enjoyed this project even though I was hoping the act of painting would be some romantic type experience where the emotions deep within me flowed out the end of my paint brush.  Not so much. 

I have one more painting planned.  I’m going to use this same idea with slightly different dimensions and different colors.  I’ve been wanting something above my fireplace for a long time.  But, you see, I can’t just go buy something because I have some strange prerequisite for all my wall art: it must be sentimentally significant for who created it or what it represents.  Weird I know.  Anyhoo…This one is 24×36 and mine will be 24×30.  Also, I will probably use a red background and maybe black letters.  I don’t know yet, but as I don’t have any turquoise in my home, I probably won’t use that!  I’m not really sure when I will get to this, but maybe sometime in 2010.

Right now, I have to  get off the computer because a 40″ tyrant says my time is up.  I hope the “story” makes sense and there are not too many grammatical errors.  Until next time blogger friends!

