Plan B

by Heidi

If you read yesterday’s post, you know Gunnar is no longer thinking about trading Graceanna for Caleb.  He is however, counting on Plan B– A new baby-boy-brother named Silas.

While driving to a friend’s house on Monday, Gunnar was chatting away and pelting me with questions as usual.  He abruptly changed topics by saying, “When me, Graceanna, and Silas get big…” 

I interupted, “What?  What are you talking about?” 

He repeated, “When me, Graceanna, and Silas get big…” 

I again said, “What?!  Who’s Silas?” 

“My little brother Silas,” Gunnar said impatiently.

I wasn’t sure what to say, because until that moment I didn’t realize how seriously Gunnar wants another baby.  I was kind of shocked and I probably should have stressed the point that I’m not sure a third child is in the plans for our family.  Instead I told him that Daddy and I were the parents, that we would pick the name for our son, and it probably would not be Silas. 

I realize now, that probably wasn’t too helpful in letting him know there may not be a baby number 3! 

Oh well.  Maybe he’ll start bugging Daddy about adding a little brother to the mix.

